Home > Uncategorized > What a Thread ==> Should I Quit Medical School?

What a Thread ==> Should I Quit Medical School?

The Student Doctor Network (SDN) continues to hate on me. Apparently, the cartoon that I featured on my last blog posting was considered to be too “sexual” since “naked women” are not allowed on SDN. I was asked to remove it. I don’t even think the Puritans were this prude! And than today, a really great thread that I stumbled upon for the first time that I posted in the Allopathic Forum was pulled down without explanation. So what was my response? To post it here so even more people can read it! Anyways, right below is the involved link.  Apparently, everything is supposed to be peaches and cream in med land. Clearly, it is not.

SHOULD I QUIT MEDICAL SCHOOL?

In case you are short of time because you have to begin a six hour study session, I thought I would give you some of the highlights-

“i feel stupid multiple times a day and i want to punch my resident in the face”

 “I liked the first two years of med school, but then it was downhill from there”

 “Basically finishing my fourth year at Pritzker, UChicago. And am going to quit” 

“i want to quit so badly, but the loans scare me so much.”

 “I have just completed my first year of medical school, and I am quitting”

 “I feel relieved, I’m now free to do whatever else I want, to explore, to spend time with family, friends, and to start building a life instead of burying myself in debt and spending the majority of my 20s in a library.”

 “Med school has turned me into an extremely anxious and depressed person, when I used to be such a smiley optimist”

 “I hate the fact that i’m too afraid to quit right now. My heart is not in it.”

 “I live for weekends off and vacations. I hate that. I feel like I’m wishing my life away.”

 “I’ve got a taste of life out school and I don’t want to ever feel trapped gain. It takes more courage to leave med school than to suck it up.”

Geez Louise!   And we haven’t even entered residency yet!  I was simultaneosly amazed yet not surprised at the volume of posts from disgruntled med students. By posting this link I was hoping to convey to others having doubts that they are not alone. I can’t tell you how many emails I get from pre-meds all the way up to attendings well into practice asking for advice on how to “get out”. Sadly, there is somewhat of a shame in the medical community to openly discuss such thoughts which is nonsense. You know what is shameful? How our healthcare system mercilessly abuses those in it. I can fully relate to many who generously shared their innermost misgivings and concerns in the above link. I never thought it could happen to me as I can always remember wanting to be a doctor going back to elementary school. However, I found that my dissatisfaction with medicine started to emerge third year of med school and only grew from there. Residency is where my feelings REALLY began to sour and I got to see medicine in all its horrid glory. I somehow made it through residency graduating several months ago. As I’ve recently shared, I am diligently working on my escape plan and hope to be out of medicine forever someday. I have compared this to almost like being in a marriage that has gone horribly wrong that is beyond repair. As each day goes on, it only gets worse and I want a divorce. Especially since I found something else I fell madly in love with (yes, I confess that I had an affair with another career for a year in between switching residencies!) There is only so much physical and mental abuse one can take. Why stay with a zero when you can be with a hero?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Anonymous
    December 7, 2009 at 2:47 am

    I don’t know why that thread was removed from the allopathic forum. I guess someone must have thought it was spam. But thanks, I found 2 new blogs to follow.

  2. December 7, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I suspect you find threads of forums like this is practically every field that has been sold on dreams, high ideals, or other forms of promises. I know chronicles has one for academia.

  3. December 10, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Wow. Great post, Medicinesux. I’m sorry that you’re so frustrated. You do a good job of conveying your outrage and it’s a shame the the medical field is in such shambles – you obviously went into the field for the right reasons.

  4. Anonymous
    November 9, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    i graduate in 6 months from med school. i have never been more sick of the bs i deal with, but the fact that the admin and faculty seem to HATE students is the real tip off of why i wonder if ill make it to graduation or just show them the birdie and head to a hippie NFP in africa. i am known as the “super sweet” and well-mannered person, very capable and smart, and the very dedicated student. however, there has got to be more to life than what i have to show for it (250k in debt, barely scraping by on student loans during ERAS season…, no social life bc cant afford it, any attempt at assertiveness is replied with a fierce smack in the face by any superior with a negative email to my dean…and it hasnt even started yet per residency/attending life). “tired of eating crumbs”

  5. December 8, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Fresh Design – Interior Forge, Ideas, Styles, Architecture

  6. Jonathan
    April 7, 2011 at 4:42 am

    I was in my first year of med school and felt conflicting emotions about it.

    I still think that physically healing others is a noble way, maybe the noblest way to spend your days.
    But I not only loathed having the workloads day in day out, but also the thought of having to do that for the REST of my life. It had been stress since the first month I got there.

    What it basically came down to was the question:
    “Am I willing to sacrifice a lot of pleasure and joy for the rest of my life and trade that in for stress, to be able to do a noble job?”

    And I have to be honest, I still don’t know the answer to that question, because I haven’t experienced being a doctor first hand.
    But after having volunteered on an ER ward and observing the lifestyle of the doctors there. It made me lean heavily towards quitting medicine.

    Quitting took me MONTHS to do. Thankfully I did leave med school a week ago. And it was very VERY hard to do, it felt as if I was betraying all my fellow med students and also part of my family including my dad.
    But I have to say deep down I know it was the best thing to do at that point. Not only to get out of that situation, but the whole difficult process of quitting something like that.

    Enjoying the lighter workload of my Biology degree now. It’s not something you take home and stress about, like medicine is.

    I guess I’ll just find out if I’ll regret my decision. In any way, I’ll always be able to go back, even if that means working extra hard to get back in.

  7. janech
    April 15, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I too am about to finish my first year of medical school and I am seriously contemplating quitting. I have excellent grades, I work well with patients and colleagues I just absolutely hate spending every moment of my life studying and then studying some more. I used to be an interested and interesting person, I received two undergrad degrees one in biochem and a second in political science and I loves talking and thinking about not only my areas of study but art, religion, philosophy etc – now all I talk about are grades, disease, death and getting ready for boards. I’ve become the most boring person I know. I’m so depressed

  8. August 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Wow,Fantastic article,it’s so helpful to me,and your blog is very good,I’ve learned a lot from your blog here,Keep on going,my friend .

  9. October 29, 2011 at 8:25 am

    people just want to read quality cintent like yours, nice

  10. Anonymous
    January 10, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    i live in romania and i’m in my 3rd year.i hate the 6 a.m. feeling.i just put some clothes on,any clothes really,not even combing my hair…i get depressed when i’m thinking about my narrow minded colleagues and school in general,and when i’m finished with all of this i go to school.i wish i could be enthusiastic about the sun rising,a new day starting..the only feeling of great happiness i had in the last 3 years is being with my boyfriend and taking ecstasy.
    anyway,i’m planing to get out of it or make the best of it.it’s hard to tell if this is the right thing for me because of my country’s conditions.my boyfriend is very supportive and it helps a lot.
    i wish the best to anyone who is in this position,it’s important to stay positive and have someone by you’re side

  11. November 7, 2013 at 10:28 am

    youre very kind to take the trouble to help me

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

